“The Board of Directors of the CMAO did not see the voting results for each nominee but relied on the compelling recommendation of the balloting committee that the final ballot for our Inaugural Awards contain 10 nominees.”

The rationale behind this recommendation was:

1. the nominations were covering a three year release window, resulting in a very large number of eligible nominations;

2. the voting was very close for the top ten nominees during the first round of voting;

3. the Board of Directors is desirous of having an open, transparent and fair process.

It was decided that any artist/group who had a standing nomination for Female, Male or Group or Duo Category are not eligible to have a nomination stand for the Rising Star Award. This policy was created to optimize opportunities for CMAO members to have their musical contribution to the Ontario music scene acknowledged.

Female Artist of the Year
Crystal Shawanda
Genevieve Fisher
Kira Isabella
Libby McGrath
Lindi Ortega
Michelle Wright
Sarah Cripps
Tara Oram
Tonya Kennedy
Victoria Banks
Winner: Kira Isabella

Male Artist of the Year
Billy J. White
Charlie Major
Deric Ruttan
Jason Blaine
Jason McCoy
Johnny Reid
Marshall Dane
Russell deCarle
Ryan Laird
Winner: Johnny Reid

Group Or Duo of the Year
Abrams Brothers
Kerosene Creek
Rob Kirkham And Neon Rain
Small Town Pistols
The Heartbroken
The River Junction Band
The Stellas
Western Avenue
Western Swing Authority
Wildwood Flowers
Winner: The Stellas

Rising Star
Amy Rose
Autumn Hill
Cadence Grace
Donna Ferra
Kate Todd
Larry Berrio
Lindsay Broughton
Megan Morrison
Naomi Bristow
Steve Rivers
Winner: Autumn Hill AND Lindsay Broughton (TIE)

Crystal Shawanda – Just Like You
Deric Ruttan – Up All Night – Deric Ruttan Live
Jason Blaine – Life So Far
Johnny Reid – Fire It Up
Kira Isabella – Love Me Like That
Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes and Truckstops
Marshall Dane – Running Stop Signs
The Heartbroken – Tonight Tonight
The Stellas – The Stellas
Victoria Banks – Never Be The Same
Winner: Deric Ruttan – Up All Night – Deric Ruttan Live

Single of the Year
Deric Ruttan – Main Street, 1979
Jason Blaine – Cool
Jason Blaine – They Don’t Make ‘Em Like That Anymore
Johnny Reid – Dedicated To You
Kira Isabella – A Little More Work
Small Town Pistols – Colour Blind
Small Town Pistols – Living on the Outside
Tebey – Somewhere In The Country
The Stellas – In This House
Winner: Jason Blaine – They Don’t Make ‘Em Like That Anymore

Songwriter of the Year
Amanda Wilkinson, Tyler Wilkinson, Joey Moi, Jeff Johnson – Colour Blind
Brad Stella, Marylynne Stella – In This House
Deric Ruttan – Main Street, 1979
Jason Blaine, Deric Ruttan – Cool
Jason Blaine, Deric Ruttan – They Don’t Make ‘ Em Like That Anymore
Johnny Reid, Mike Reid, Thom Hardwell – Dedicated To You
Michelle Wright, Patricia Conroy, Danick Dupelle – Another Good Day
Shane Guse, Jason Blaine – All Dolled Up
Tebey, Sam Ellis – Somewhere In The Country
Tyler Wilkinson, Amanda Wilkinson, Steve Wilkinson- Living On The Outside
Winner: Jason Blaine, Deric Ruttan – They Don’t Make ‘ Em Like That Anymore

Radio Station of the Year – Major Market
CHKX – KX 94.7 Hamilton
CICS-FM – KICX 91.7 Sudbury
CIKZ- KIX 106 Kitchener
CJBX – BX 93 London
CJKX – KX 96 Oshawa
CJWF – Country 95.9 Windsor
CKBY – Y101 Ottawa
Winner: CJKX – KX 96 Oshawa

Radio Station of the Year – Secondary Market
CFCO – Country 92.9 Chatham
CFRM – 100.7 The Island FM. Little Current, Manitoulin
CHCQ – Cool 100.1 FM Belleville
CICX-FM – KICX 106 FM Orillia
CJBQ – 800 AM Belleville
CJDL – Country 107.3 Tillsonburg
CKQM – Country 105 FM Peterborough
CKXC – KIX 93.5 Kingston
CKXS – 99.1 FM Wallaceburg
CKYC – Country 93 Owen Sound
Winner: CICX-FM – KICX 106 FM Orillia

In this first and important year, the CMAO has also established a special award.The CMAO Impact Award recognizes an artist, group, industry personality or company/organization who has left an enduring and indelibly positive footprint on the landscape of country music in Ontario. The 2013 Impact Award was given to the Canadian Country Music Association.


Lost your password?

Create an account?