Ottawa Announced as Host City for the 2019 CMAOntario Festival & Awards
October 2, 2018
In The News (October 2018)
October 23, 2018

2019 CMAOntario Awards: Tickets On Sale Friday, October 19th





October 15, 2018 (TORONTO)

The Country Music Association of Ontario is excited to announce that tickets for the 2019 CMAOntario Awards go on sale this Friday, October 19th. The 7th annual celebration will bring an evening of continuous music, memorable moments and inevitable fun to the National Arts Centre (Southam Hall) in Ottawa on Sunday, June 16, 2019 starting at 7:00pm.

Tickets for the CMAOntario Awards will be available for purchase to the public as of 10:00am, Friday, October 19 online at or by phone at 1.888.991.2787. Early bird pricing will be in effect with prices ranging from $69.00 (plus taxes and service fees) for regular reserved seating to $225.00 (plus taxes and service fees) for fan VIP packages. Full ticket pricing goes into effect as of January 1, 2019.

CMAOntario Members can enjoy a special members-only price also beginning Friday, October 19 at 10:00am. Promo codes to access the members’ discount will be sent to CMAOntario members via email through the Association.

CCMA Award winner Jason McCoy, creator and front man of multiple CCMA and JUNO Award-winning The Road Hammers, will return as host for the 2019 CMAOntario Awards.

As part of the evening’s honours, multi-award winning country vocal group The Good Brothers will receive the 2019 Impact Award. This trio of brothers have been part of Canada’s musical soundtrack for more than five decades, highlighted by Larry’s fiery banjo breaks, Bruce’s award winning autoharp styles, Brian’s guitar finger picking and their unique sibling harmonies. Through their soulful blend of country, bluegrass, traditional roots and folk, along with their spirited live shows, they have gained a worldwide audience, captured 8 JUNO Awards and in 2004, were inducted into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame. In 2015 the brothers were recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Toronto Musicians Association followed a year later by an induction into the North American Country Music Association International Hall of Fame. 2017 saw the release of their 16th studio album, Wide Awake Dreamin’, supported by their 39th tour on the other side of the Atlantic.

The CMAOntario Impact Award recognizes an artist, group, industry personality or company/organization that has left an enduring and indelibly positive footprint on the landscape of country music in Ontario. Previous recipients include Michelle Wright, Blue Rodeo, Prairie Oyster, Paula Chopik and Ed Leslie (producers of Havelock Country Jamboree) and Gordon Lightfoot.

New to the CMAOntario Awards for 2019 is the addition of the Francophone Artist or Group of the Year category. This award will be presented to a Franco-Ontarian country act whose main body of music is performed in the French language.

“The addition of the Francophone Artist of the Year award to our show reflects the growing diversity of country music and recognizes the linguistic duality of the entertainment industry in Ontario,” said CMAOntario President Steve Kassay. “As an association, we need to be the best representation of our membership in order to be relevant and continue to move forward, and that means offering recognition and support to the Francophone sector just as any other country artist in this province.”

Nominations for the 2019 CMAOntario Awards will open in February 2019.

Highlights from the 2018 event include performances by Michelle Wright, Cold Creek County, River Town Saints, Andrew Hyatt, Dan Davidson, Jason Blaine, Tebey, Meghan Patrick, The Reklaws and Tim Hicks.

Additional details, including a full line-up of performers and award nominees, will be announced in early 2019.

The CMAOntario Awards are presented by Slaight Music with support from Ontario Creates.

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram: @theCMAOntario

– 30 –

About CMAOntario:
In 2007, Rob MacArthur and founding patron Linda Wright together with a number of key industry professionals founded the Country Music Association of Ontario. The Association’s mandate is to foster the growth and development of Ontario’s country music and its industry, provincially, nationally and internationally. The CMAOntario has hosted six annual Awards Shows and five two-day Road to Independence educational conferences with the generous assistance of presenting sponsor Slaight Music and support of Ontario Creates.

About Slaight Music:
Slaight Music was started in 2011 with a mandate to support the Canadian music community through a variety of initiatives, and to develop Canadian talent via strategic partnerships with industry peers. We work with artists from across the country and across the musical spectrum, helping to further careers and get great music heard. We’re also invested in the technology sphere, helping Canadian music entrepreneurs develop the next generation of digital platforms and services. And, we support a variety of music-related events, causes and charities.


About Ontario Creates:
Ontario Creates (formerly OMDC) is a provincial agency that facilitates economic development, investment and collaboration in Ontario’s creative industries including the music, book, magazine, film, television and interactive digital media sectors.

Ontario Créatif (anciennement la SODIMO) est un organisme provincial qui encourage le développement économique, les investissements et la collaboration au sein des industries de la création de l’Ontario, notamment dans les secteurs de la musique, de l’édition de livres et de revues, du cinéma et de la télévision, et des produits multimédias interactifs numériques.


Lost your password?

Create an account?